Learn about the District


Pulaski Conservation District


Mission Statement:


The Pulaski Conservation District was organized to serve Pulaski County by recognizing the needs and objectives of each community and assisting them to meet those objectives. The District provides valuable assistance in this process by coordinating the services and efforts of various state and federal agencies. The District develops and carries out programs for the conservation of our soil, water, and other natural resources within the county. Pulaski County is shared by all of its people, urban and rural alike; therefore we share the responsibility of keeping it productive.

Our Purpose:

The purpose of the District is to plan and carry out programs for the conservation and efficient use of land, water and related natural resources in Pulaski County. In so doing it serves as the medium through which all individuals, agencies, organizations and institutions with conservation interests can effectively work together to solve local problems in natural resources conservation and help forecast future needs.

Technical assistance is provided to the District through an agreement between the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), the State of Arkansas and the Pulaski Conservation District. The Pulaski County Field Service Center of the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and the Farm Service Agency (FSA) are partnered with the District office to provide conservation related services. The District also works closely with the Pulaski County Extension Service, Pulaski County Judge and Quorum Court, Arkansas Forestry Commission, city mayors and county land users.

The District is governed by five local landowners known as the Board of Directors, three of whom are elected by the landowners in the District, and two are appointed by the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission. Directors serve three-year terms and meet once a month.

The District’s missions are met with many thanks to the financial support from and coordination with the Pulaski County Quorum Court and Arkansas Natural Resources Commission.



Board of Directors:
Dennis Hackbart, Chairman, West Little Rock
Mary Ratcliffe, Vice Chairman, Sweet Home
Sam McGhee, Secretary/Treasurer, North Little Rock
Tracey Bemis,Member, Little Rock
Debbie Moreland, Member, Roland
Jenny Withrow, Associate Board Member, Scott

Office Personnel:

Heather Arick, Administrative Assistant
James Harness, District Technician
Che Gordon, USDA-NRCS District Conservationist

District Hours: Mondays, Wednesdays & Fridays 8:30 a.m.

History of Conservation

Home | About Us |Directors | District News | Education| Contact
District Programs
| Climate/Environment |In Your Backyard| Useful Links
Plat Book Order Form | Farmers Claim
August 2013 Newsletter

Pulaski Conservation District
4004 McCain Boulevard
Room 201 NBA Building
North Little Rock, AR. 72116
Email: heather.arick@ar.nacdnet.net
           Phone: (501) 758-2544 Ext. 3
Fax: (501) 758-7052

Conservation ~ Development ~ Self-Government

Site Development by Christian Means
Copyright (2013)